The centerpiece of the Greenwich Old Timers Athletic Association's mission is to support youth sports and provide its annual Scholarship Program. As a result of the generosity of the community in support of the organization, the Old Timers awarded $29,500 toward "needs-based only" scholarships for deserving Greenwich student athletes in 2016. The Old Timers initiated the scholarship program in 1966, awarding a $500 scholarship to our first recipient and this year's Coach's Lifetime Achievement Award, Garland Allen. The award itself has grown from a one-year $500 grant to four-year renewable grants of $2,000 each. Through 2016, the Old Timers have awarded 86 four-year scholarships to Greenwich young men and women, permitting them to further their educational careers.

Our 2016 four-year grants were awarded to Alexa Guerrieri, who is attend­ing University of New Hampshire, and Elizabeth Lewis, who is attending Penn State. The Michael Sandlock Baseball 2016 Scholarship, a one-year award in the amount of $1,500, was given to Daniel Pastore, who is attending Elon University. This scholarship is in honor of Michael Sandlock, a Greenwich native, Old Timers board member, and past President, who played for the Boston Braves, Brooklyn Dodgers and Pittsburgh Pirates. 

The Old Timers also administered the funds raised by the Joseph Piro Jr. Memorial Golf Tournament in the form of a one-year scholarship. Through the success of that tournament, the Old Timers were able to grant three graduating seniors schol­arships. The 2016 recipients are Trevor Kelly attending UCONN, Benjamin Orszulak attending SUNY Cobleskill, and Andrew Scholosser attending Manhattanville College. 

The Old Timers initiated a new four-year scholarship in 2015 in memory of David Theis who was Second Selectmen of Greenwich and fellow Old Timers board member for many years. The recipient is a student with both an athletic background and a history of community service. This year's award went to Robert Lombardi, who is attending Cornell. 

Old Timers Scholarship Recipients 

Four-Year Scholarships 

Garland Allen, Kent State
William Boles, Rutgers
John Chute, Notre Dame
Kevin Coupe, Princeton
Timothy Dirgins, William & Mary
Floyd Dugas Jr., Connecticut
Jaime Ehret, New Hampshire
Eneas Freyre, Richmond
Kelly Haughs, Bucknell
Neal Kavanagh, Iona
James Kovac, Gettysburg
Nicholas LeRose, Duke
Matthew Lutz, Bucknell
John Meeker, Michigan Tech
Albert Morano, Hamilton
Louis Orlando, Yale
Enrique Puebla, Connecticut
Jeremiah Silver, Rhode Island
William Vizza, Sacred Heart
Brian Whyte, Delaware
Michael Hannigan, Middlebury
Cara Jones, Skidmore
Elizabeth Cannone, Cornell
Zachary Ostrowski, Dickinson
Tyler Stewart, Western New England
Steven Sanchez, Connecticut
Frank Angelastro, Loyola
Theodore S. Brosko, Richmond
Kaitlin Conroy, Babson
Frank DeSalvo Jr., Franklin & Marshall
Charles Dobbs, M.I.T. 
Jana Jagodzinski, Wheaton College
James Ebzery, Notre Dame
Chester Forman, Holy Cross
Richard Futia, Connecticut College
Thomas Griffen, M.I.T. 
Edwin Holden IV, Johns Hopkins
Brian Kelley, Boston College
John Lach, NYU
Joseph Loparco, Boston College

Four-Year Scholarships

Edward McGeary, Allegheny
Matthew Migliardi, Bentley
Christopher Moxhay, Bowdoin
Jeffrey Price, Central Conn. 
Gary Texiere, Maryland
Bradley Wallace, Springfield
Michael Futia, Providence
Tara Jagodzinski, Villanova
Michael Ceci, Central Conn. 
Dean Capparelle Jr., Salve Regina
Lauren Ambrogio, Towson
Taryn Sechi, Johnson & Wales
Andrew Marullo, Southern Conn.
Erica Tillinghast, Villanova
Rebecca Blake, Bryant
Chris Marulla, Southern Conn.
Reggie Gatchelin, Nassau CC
John Kavanagh, Washington & Lee
Kelly Garafalo, Boston College
Laura Ng, NYU
Andrew Diddel, Villanova
Rich Riscica, Marist
Michael Lefflbine, Sacred Heart
Carnryn Ferrara, St. Lawrence
Phillip Silbereisen, St. Lawrence
ori Dobson, Brandeis
Timothy Frazier, Western Conn.
Mary Margaret Koester, Maryland
Daniel Lombardi, Northern Illinois
Christopher Daly, Lehigh University
(Haugen Memorial Award)
Michael Daly, Elon University
Alessandra Herrera, Rhode Island
Laura Thran, New Hampshire
Elias Frank, Bentley University
Tyla Taylor, Weslyan University
Erin White, Univ. of Mary Washington
Ryan Pasquali, University of Richmond Christopher Fischer, Univ. of Alabama
Wanran Angela Ri, Bucknell University

Hoyt Memorial Scholarship

David Gamble, Eastern Conn. 
Jonathan Czarnecki, Eastern Conn.
Michael Mattera, Maryland
Doug Leftbine, West. New England
Matthew Zohdy, Connecticut
William Ostruska, Salve Regina
Christopher Monick, Northeastern
Michael Stempien, Maryland
Timothy Mahoney, Rhode Island
Jeffrey Carino, Quinnipiac
Tyler Herman, UMass-Amherst
Christian Marchand, Norwalk CC
Kevin Collins, High Point Univ.
Michael DeGiorgio, Marist

Sandlock Baseball Scholarship

Robert Gelcius, Loyola
Matthew Pignatero, Seton Hall University Mathew Strati, Iona College

Andy Anderson Award

Karen Caruso, Iona

Joseph Piro Jr. Memorial Award

Joseph MaGuire, Lassel College
Casey Gaynor, Elon University
Freddy Criollo, Fordham University Matthew Delima, Norwalk CC
Kyle Herman, Norwalk CC